Teenage Rebellion

From time to time, everyone looks back on their past and youth. What they did, how they acted, who their friends were, and how their lives were in general.

I vividly remember the years I was a teenager in high school. I was happy and carefree a lot of the time, but I was also angry and spiteful, especially toward those in my family. For inexplicable reasons, I always felt the need to talk back and make things more difficult than they should have been for my parents. Though I was content most of the time, my mood was prone to change by 180 degrees by the slightest provocation. I was irritable and easily annoyed, getting hugely pissed off with anything my family did wrong. I either wore a stone cold mask of indifference or had a scowl on my expression, and constantly shooed everyone out of my room because there was no such thing as too much alone time.

Even at the time, I knew my behavior made little sense. I never acted this way outside of the home or around my friends, and my parents were nothing but good to me. Of course now that I’m older I’ve mellowed out, but I can’t help but still be bewildered by my attitude in my younger years.

As I observe the youth of today, I realize this more common than I realize. Socrates once said, “The children now love luxury. They have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise.” It has been over 2000 years since Socrates’s time, and it seems that nothing has changed much. Adolescent rebellion is natural as a way of finding independence and identity, and nearly all of us have been through it at some point. All I can really say is: teenagers, try to be good to your parents; they provide you with so much love and take care of you the best they can. And to parents, and my parents in particular, you are doing the hardest job in the world raising children; thank you so much and try to bear with us rebellious teenagers.

One thought on “Teenage Rebellion

Leave a Reply

